I know this post is extremely late and I am deeply sorry… I am just getting over a nasty cold. Anyway on to the review!!! Last week I opened my mailbox to find April’s Birchbox waiting for me. Well I was extremly excited as Birchbox is one of my favorite subscription services that I am a member of. Only topped by the amazing Glossybox! So if you are a Beauty Box Virgin then get your butt in gear already and sign up for a service! I promise you will not regret it. Every month wont be equal of course but hey that’s part f the fun of it! You never know what you will find inside your box! Ok lets get on to Aprils’s Birchbox already.

Here is what the box looks like when you pull it out of your mailbox.

Birchbox Package

Birchbox Package

After you open the box you will remove another box. This month Birchbox teamed up with Women’sHealth Magazine. All items in this month’s box were hand picked by the editors of Women’sHealth.  According to the advertising the box is supposed to focus on wellness Here is what the actual box looked like.

Birchbox April 2013

Birchbox April 2013

And here is the box opened and the tissue paper opened as well.

Inside of April Birchbox

Inside of April Birchbox

Now lets get to this month’s items! First thing that I pulled from the box was a very generous sample of Firm Hold Hair Gel by Number 4 Hair Care. I have had a chance to use this item 3 times and i must say that I love it. It is very thick and feels like super thick glue in your hands but once you have it in your hair and give a little scrunch it coats the hair nicely. I use a diffuser on my blow dryer and the results are awesome. It has the perfect hold and lasts all day without wearing down and my hair turning frizzy. I do wash it out before bed as sleeping with it in your hair would probably not be very comfortable  If you are someone who like a light hold this is NOT for you. Full size is $32.00. I would say the sample they gave us will last me for at least 10-15 times.

 

Firm Hold Gel by Number 4 Hair Care

Firm Hold Gel by Number 4 Hair Care

The next item I will review is a Sumita Full size eye shadow pencil that also arrived in April’s box. It is in the color Prairna and is a grassy green with micro shimmer. I have not tried it as of yet but I did swatch it for you all. I am just not one for green eye shadow but if you are then I am sure this would make an awesome base for your shadow.  A full size is $11.00. Keep in mind that the monthly price for this service is only $10.00!!! That one product was worth the cost of the entire box of items!! Here is the swatch and photo.

Sumita Eye shadow pencil in Prairna

Sumita Eye shadow pencil in Prairna

Swatch of Sumita Pencil

Swatch of Sumita Pencil

Next we have a product that I really really loved. That is the Yes to Cucumbers On-the-Go Facial Towelette. I received 3 single size packets an boy are they awesome. I would totally purchase the full size product and more then likely will. They have the most amazing cucumber smell. They just smell fresh and clean. They take off all your makeup including gel eyeliner. I have found with other makeup wipes that they do not remove my eye makeup or heavy foundations/concealers. I did not have that problem with these what so ever. I completely recommend these wipes. These would be perfect for travel and to keep in your purse or desk. I will get them for my kit as well. i know a lot of makeup artist like to use baby wipes as they are cost effective but I find they are rougher on the skin and I have problems removing gel liner and mascara with them. These are like heaven for your face!! Best of all the full size package is only $9.99!

Yes to Cucumbers On-the-Go facial Towelette

Yes to Cucumbers On-the-Go facial Towelette

We also received a sample card with 2 samples on it. The first side was Yes to Grapefruit Correct & Repair Daily Facial Scrub. I really did enjoy this as well. Although it was only enough for 1 use. It smelled divine and did not dry out my already dry skin. A BIG plus. The second side of the card contained Yes to Grapefruit Correct & Repair Dark Spot Correcting Serum. The directions said that after cleaning to apply a layer to face and neck for smooth, even and glowing skin. I did give that a try and can not really tell you how it works as it would take longer then 1 use to see those results. It did however feel nice on my face and smell good. Full size is $19.99 and a full size of the face scrub is $9.99.

Sample Card- Yes to Grapefruit

Sample Card- Yes to Grapefruit

And the final product I received is a sample packet of Pure Advanced Antioxidant Therapy Vitivia Pro Vitamin. These are capsules that squeeze out and apply to your face.  It contains 3 brown capsules of Vitamin C 10% used to reduce hyper pigmentation  fight wrinkles and age spots. These capsules are applied in the morning before your moisturizer and makeup. It also contained 3 orange capsules of Vitamin A(retinol) at 0.15%. these capsules are used for refining pore, smoothing fine lines to reveal more youthful looking skin and also reduces skin inflammation. They are applied in the evening and followed after by your moisturizer. I did try these and did enjoy them. I love serums and Vitamins so this was a win win for me. Again I do believe I would need longer then 3 days to give accurate results. Full size is $55.00 per vitamin type.

Vitivia Vitamins

Vitivia Vitamins

There was also a subscription card at the bottom of my box for a free $10 subscription to Women’sHeath Magazine and in fine print it states that if you do not want it you can opt to receive a $10 check instead.  So let’s get this straight. I paid $10 for this box and I can receive from Women’sHealth Magazine a $10 check….So my box was free!!! And I get all these amazing goodies!!! Really if you were not a believer in Beauty Boxes before this review I sure hope you are now….here is a link to sign up for your own Birchbox.

https://www.birchbox.com?raf=9vbp2

Subscription Card From Women'sHealth Magazine

Subscription Card From Women’sHealth Magazine

Thanks for reading and please let me know what you all think? Will you be subscribing  And if you are currently a member of another subscription service that is amazing please share …

 

